Hogarths

I have had a few queries about Hugh Hogarth and the Hogarth family, so I have added some material and revised my page on him.  In all families there are ‘characters’ who stay in the family memory and Hugh Hogarth is a good example.  He seems to be the stuff that legends are made of – he married ‘up’ into the Bryces, a wealthy Glasgow merchant family;  he traveled to New Zealand and lived in Auckland; he fought (maybe) in the Maori Wars and he probably was a violent drunk.  But one little detail appears to have been neglected – throughout he was a draper, something that is a bit at odds with the story!

About jenjen999

I am a family historian with an interest not only in direct lines but in the social background and historical setting of the families I research.
This entry was posted in family history and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hogarths

  1. spikedshoe says:

    Thank for getting in contact. My interest in the Hogarth family tree is due to my marriage to Elizabeth Hogarth, daughter of Hugh Hogarth the son of Peter Clark Hogarth. I found your Word Press very interesting filling in a few gaps. The story of the Maori Medal is true as we are in possession of the medal and ribbon. I am facinated by the suggested connection to William Kirkpatrick. This was always claimed by Hugh’s sister Janie and I did a lot of research on the subject but am convinced that this is a case of mistaken identity. I would be delighted if you could provide evidence to the contrary. If you require any further information let me know and I will do my best to be of assistance.

Leave a Reply

