Midgleys – maybe

I have just put a page up on Ruth Newell (later Lucas).  She was the sister (well, the page will say more about her exact relationship) of Sarah Ann Midgley, my great great-grandmother.  There are a lot of things that are not known about Ruth, but she was a powerful influence on at least some family members.  She was also, as her marriage license shows, unable to sign her name – in 1868 that would not have been so unusual.  But as I read ‘her mark’ I was stunned to think that illiteracy was possible.  My thanks to various respondents on Curious Fox – a very helpful resource

www.curiousfox.org.uk/

About jenjen999

I am a family historian with an interest not only in direct lines but in the social background and historical setting of the families I research.
This entry was posted in family history. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

