Read carefully

I was adding a very routine record to one of my trees on Ancestry when I suddenly noticed something interesting.  In 1911 a grandchild was noted as being born in Coolmain Castle, Ireland.  The family I was researching were, until I noticed this little detail, Scottish.  Suddenly there was an Irish connection.  I checked the probate record for the child’s father who had died two decades later and there was the widow’s name ‘Stawell’.  I check Coolmain Castle on a couple of standard, well-validated sites and there are the Stawell family.  A whole new family emerge – a Scottish merchant living in England has a son who has married into the Anglo-Irish.  All kinds of interesting sidelines and connections develop.  This is why family history is so fascinating – and why it pays to look at the detail on records.

About jenjen999

I am a family historian with an interest not only in direct lines but in the social background and historical setting of the families I research.
This entry was posted in family history. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

